Stereotypical American

image

Neuville Riverside

image

Neuville Bridgeside

image

Neuville Countryside

I went to a french Mc Donalds today for the first time. I also tried out my Texan accent while ordering. Needless to say, the cashier was completely lost. Their marketing scheme got me thinking though; “Bread & America”. What do the French actually think about us Americans? Well, for one, there is the stereotype that most Americans are overweight, that one didn’t come as a surprise to me. One that caught me a little off-guard though is that we are arrogant, and very materialistic. Come to think of it though, it’s more than slightly true. How often have I just wanted one more pair of shoes, shirt, or even a new book? More times than I can count. Arrogant as well? Well, I don’t like seeing myself as that, but the thought that “well at least I’m not them” has crossed my mind more than once. This certain trip to McDonald’s wasn’t just the first time in France, but also the first one to get me to think a little deeper than about what sandwich I’m going to order.

-Birdboy