Finding Time

Time is precious, Time is money, Time is not to be wasted. What then, is wasting time? The concept is a difficult one for me to define. Is talking with friends I haven’t seen in months a waste of time? Not to me. And if a project deadline is tomorrow? Well, my definition of wasting time changes. This is part of what made taking yesterday off both work and electronics hard for me. What if I miss a deadline? What if a crucial email comes in? What will I do without music for a day? How can I keep from getting bored? As I started though, these questions seemed less and less significant. Having time to do nothing offered not a drawn-out bore, but instead became a much needed solace to think, read, and relax. Did I miss out on chances and deadlines by taking this day off? Possibly, but I attended a much more important appointment; one with just me and God. Being able to realign my objectives and motivation was something long overdue. Finding time again will not be as hard next time. In fact, I’m looking forward to next week, when I can take more tuned out of the world, and tuned in to what really matters.